Week 80- Closing Chapter.

Sister Hawkins E-mail ~ Week 80

Well y’all, this is it. The last email I will write as a full time missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. I am in tears right now, just reflecting on the wonderful memories and experiences I have had throughout these past 18 months. I am forever grateful to my Heavenly Father for giving me these opportunities and for the privilege it has been to serve in place of the Savior.

 I want to share with you my witness of the Doctrine of Christ. I know that having faith in Jesus Christ is what gives us power to do His work. Believing in Christ has given me the strength to do things that I would not be able to do otherwise. But another part of faith, aside from believing in Christ, is believing Christ. Trusting that He really can lift our burdens, that He knows our hearts and He can make us clean as we rely on His Atonement. I know that through repentance, I can be cleansed from sin. Because of this gift, I can try again and again and again. As I strive to become more like the Savior, I know that He will help me to make changes in my life that will transform me, change me from my fallen state and help me become one of His disciples. I have a testimony of the power of covenants. It is through the promises we make that allow us to access Heavenly help. I am thankful for the gift of the Holy Ghost and the witness that it has born to me again and again that Jesus is the Christ and that His gospel is the only way back to our Heavenly Father. This witness of the Doctrine of Christ is what drives me every single day. It is the Doctrine of Christ that has motivated me for the last 18 months to talk to everyone, to knock just one more door, to push myself a little further each day, so that others may enjoy the blessings of the gospel. I know all of this to be true because I have personally experienced it in my own life. In August 2016, I was hit by a car and dragged underneath it for about 30 feet. During the time that I was being dragged, I did not know if I would live or if I would die. Thankfully, the car finally did stop and I was taken to the hospital, where I was treated for just a few small abrasions and some road rash. I knew in that moment that I had a loving Heavenly Father who knows me and who has given me a Savior who helps me through my trials. Jesus Christ knows us perfectly. He loves us. This experience, although very challenging, helped me to personalize the Doctrine of Christ in a way I never had before. During the recovery process, the Doctrine of Christ became my foundation. It was my faith in Jesus Christ, my desire to become better, the power of my covenants, the healing power of the sacrament, and the comfort that came through the Holy Ghost that sustained me through this time in my life. Despite the pain that I sometimes still feel and the frightening memories of the accident, I would go through that experience a million times over just to gain the relationship that I now have with my Savior and my unshaken testimony of His gospel. Although I now carry some pretty big scars, they’re nothing when compared to the scars the Savior carries because of me. They serve as a constant reminder of His love and Atoning sacrifice for me. I know and I testify in the name of Jesus Christ that it is through faith in Him and living his gospel, repenting, being baptized and making further covenants, receiving the gift of the Holy Ghost and enduring to the end that we can return to our Heavenly Father. It is the only way for us to become clean and changed and perfected, so we may live in His presence with our families forever. Of these things I testify in the name of Jesus Christ, amen.

 See y’all real soon!!!

 XOXO

 Sister Hawkins

Relief Society District
Relief Society District!! Elders McKel and Jeppsen, Sisters Palmer, Jepsen, Dolbin, Darrington, Hawkins, Lucas, and Leavitt
Service and Exchanges
Service and Exchanges with Hermana Garner! Sisters Liufau, Shumway, and Hall in the back
Saying goodbye to some of Tena's grandkids
Saying goodbye to some of Tena’s grandkids who are moving.
Sienna Plantation. Eat, drink, and be merry
Sienna Plantation. Eat, drink, and be merry. Haha!
Mission Leadership Council
Mission Leadership Council Friday March 3rd, 2017.
One thought on “Week 80- Closing Chapter.

Leave a Reply

